| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
spark Member
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 13
|
Posted: 2010.01.16 14:41 Post subject: Forum under attack? |
|
|
Dear SAXIER,
I just got a strange PM telling me I have a virus by AdminLady (?!). Perhaps there is some need to protect the forum against Scam.
Kind regards
Spark |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
JMcGuire Guest
Joined: 13 Dec 2009 Posts: 2 Institute, Location: University of Liverpool
|
Posted: 2010.01.16 14:56 Post subject: |
|
|
also received this message, I imagine it's a phishing scam, and would recommend banning adminlady.
DO NOT CLICK THE LINK |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ajzz Member

Joined: 23 Dec 2008 Posts: 15 Institute, Location: University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
|
Posted: 2010.01.16 17:49 Post subject: Can the real admin please disable "AdminLady" ? |
|
|
Here's what I got as a private message...
Clearly s/he is misrepresenting "Forum Administration".
Please delete that account.
Thanks!
======== Message Received ==========
From: AdminLady
Posted: 2010.01.16 01:19
Subject: Important message from the forum administration
| AdminLady wrote: | Dear, ajzz!
A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://antivirus.effectmeds.com/ajzz
----------------------------------------------------
Sincerely, Forum Administration www.saxier.org. |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ajzz Member

Joined: 23 Dec 2008 Posts: 15 Institute, Location: University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
|
Posted: 2010.01.16 18:39 Post subject: Here's a list of spam accounts |
|
|
If you look at the member list at:
http://www.saxier.org/forum/memberlist.php
and sort by date joined in descending order, there are atleast 8 new accounts registered between Jan 15th and 16th. There is a specific pattern. They all have registered with seemingly spurious e-mail addresses like "online poker", feed devil, antivirus etc...
It may be time to make the sign-up process a bit more sturdy.
Hope the above helps.
Ajay |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AL Administrator

Joined: 03 Aug 2007 Posts: 145 Institute, Location: EMBL Hamburg, Germany
|
Posted: 2010.01.16 22:37 Post subject: We are working on this problem |
|
|
Dear Forum members,
indeed the Forum was under attack. Please do not open any suspicious links. We are working on this problem (probably will switch to a more advanced anti-spam module).
Thanks for reporting,
kind regards,
SAXIER Moderation Staff |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|